Skip to content
Municipality · Nordland · 1833

Rana

3 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 2 companies. The farms are in production area 8 (Helgeland til Bodø), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 1Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 0.0%Of lice counts above the limit, 202527 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 8Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 1Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 1.5 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 6,240 tonnes · 2 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Rana

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Buktodden Nø
Nova Sea Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.066,2405
Mo Industripark
Kvarøy Smolt AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Svabo
Kvarøy Smolt AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)10.0%700unknownunknown
202510.0%810NOK 1.5 m91
202410.0%600*NOK 6.3 m30
20231*7.7%*3*0unknownNOK 1.7 m56
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 4.6 m70
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 1.1 m52
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 3.6 m5
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 3 m13

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Flostrandvassdraget157.42Z
  • RanavassdragetNational salmon river · 156.Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 91 salmon (227 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway