Skip to content
Municipality · Nordland · 1824

Vefsn

2 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 2 companies. The farms are in production area 8 (Helgeland til Bodø), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • unknownFarms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 0.0%Of lice counts above the limit, 202552 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 8Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 742,184From the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 3,880 tonnes · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Vefsn

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Grytåga
Grytåga Settefisk Drift AS
Not reportedunknown7600
Skonseng
Nova Sea Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)10.0%100unknownunknown
202510.0%800NOK 742,184599
202410.0%300*NOK 3.2 m409
20231*0.0%*2*0unknownNOK 865,234505
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 2.3 m503
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 566,611557
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 1.8 m563
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 173,337442

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Aunelva (Vefsn)149.8Z
  • Drevjavassdraget152.2Z
  • Fustavassdraget152.Z
  • Halsanelva149.6Z
  • Hestdalselva149.61Z
  • Hundåla151.1Z
  • VefsnavassdragetNational salmon river · 151.Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 599 salmon (1,867 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway