Skip to content
Municipality · Vestland · 4627

Askøy

4 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 3 companies. The farms are in production area 3 (Karmøy til Sotra), rated red (2026 assessment) and production area 4 (Nordhordland til Stadt), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 1Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 15.3%Of lice counts above the limit, 202572 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 12Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 1.5 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 6,490 tonnes · 1 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Askøy

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Storoksen
Lerøy Vest Sjø AS
Below the limit0.113,1203
Ramsøy S
Lerøy Vest Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Strømsnes
Blom Settefisk AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Tveitevåg
Mowi ASA
Not reportedunknown2500

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)23.2%1200unknownunknown
2025215.3%1200NOK 1.5 munknown
202421.4%1500*NOK 6.3 munknown
20232*7.7%*8*0unknownNOK 1.7 munknown
2022unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 4.6 munknown
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 1.1 munknown
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 3.6 munknown
2019unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 346,675unknown

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

No registered salmon rivers with their mouth in the municipality.

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway