Skip to content
Municipality · Vestland · 4601

Bergen

5 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 3 companies. The farms are in production area 3 (Karmøy til Sotra), rated red (2026 assessment).

  • unknownFarms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • unknownOf lice counts above the limit, 20250 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • unknownSea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • unknownFrom the Aquaculture FundDirectorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 31 tonnes · 2 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Bergen

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Alvøen
Firda Settefisk Alvøen AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Dokken
Havforskningsinstituttet
Not reportedunknown60
Industrilab Hib
Universitetet I Bergen
Not reportedunknown130
Marineholmen Forskingspark
Universitetet I Bergen
Not reportedunknown130
Nordnes
Havforskningsinstituttet
Not reportedunknownunknown0

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
20250unknown000unknown103
20240unknown000*unknown107
20230*unknown0*0unknownunknown97
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownunknown104
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownunknown0
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownunknown222
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownunknown255

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Storelva (Arna)061.2Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 103 salmon (319 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway