Skip to content
Municipality · Nordland · 1837

Meløy

13 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 6 companies. The farms are in production area 8 (Helgeland til Bodø), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 2Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 1.1%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025189 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 15Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 3Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 6.4 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 40,242 tonnes · 3 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Meløy

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Storvika
Nova Sea Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.234,6800
Skålsvika
Nova Sea Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.043,6000
Glomfjord I
Mowi ASA
Not reportedunknown1,4000
Glomfjord II
Mowi ASA
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Glomfjord III
Mowi ASA
Not reportedunknown1,4000
Isbergan
Nova Sea Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,6000
Kilvik
Helgeland Smolt AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Meløysjøen
Nova Sea Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown4,6800
Rendalsvik
Nova Sea Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Sandøyan
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown3,9000
Teksmona
Nova Sea Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Verholmen
Fish Farm International AS
Not reportedunknown10,7420
Åmøya
Nordland Akva AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)50.0%1700unknownunknown
202561.1%1530NOK 6.4 m117
202463.4%3210*NOK 27 m108
20235*0.0%*2*1unknownNOK 12.4 m89
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 16.9 m123
2021unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 4.1 m171
2020unknownunknownunknown3unknownNOK 12.1 m194
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 3.9 m124

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Reipåvassdraget160.43Z
  • Spildervassdraget160.41Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 117 salmon (276 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway