Skip to content
Municipality · Nordland · 1865

Vågan

12 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 7 companies. The farms are in production area 9 (Vestfjorden og Vesterålen), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 3Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 1.0%Of lice counts above the limit, 202599 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 7Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 10.1 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 26,158 tonnes · 3 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Vågan

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Alterosen
Nordlaks Havbruk AS
Near the limit0.46780
Kalvhodet
Nordlaks Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.044,9900
Våtvika
Egil Kristoffersen & Sønner AS
Below the limit0.003,1200
Brenna
Polarsmolt AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Framnes
Polarsmolt AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Landfastøya
Lofoten Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown3,1000
Molgavlen
Nordlaks Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,9000
Oddværsætra
Ellingsen Seafood AS
Not reportedunknown1,5600
Raven
Nordlaks Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown4,6800
Storfjell
Nordlaks Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown4,6800
Strømnes Skole
Laukvik Skole
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Ørsnes
Lofoten Akvaponi A/s
Not reportedunknown500

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)42.1%600unknownunknown
202551.0%700NOK 10.1 m2
202460.0%900*NOK 19.3 m7
20233*0.0%*2*0unknownNOK 5.3 m13
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 15.3 m13
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 3.8 m13
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 11.3 m29
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 1.2 m0

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Vestpollvassdraget (Vågan)179.332Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 2 salmon (5 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway