Skip to content
Municipality · Møre og Romsdal · 1508

Ålesund

3 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 3 companies. The farms are in production area 5 (Stadt til Hustadvika), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 1Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 1.6%Of lice counts above the limit, 202564 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 9Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 1.2 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 6,871 tonnes · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Ålesund

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Gudmundset
Prophylaxia AS
Below the limit0.103,1200
Holmskallen
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown3,6000
Tueneset
Stiftelsen Atlanterhavsparken - Norges Nasjonale Akvarium
Not reportedunknown1510

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)10.0%500unknownunknown
202521.6%901NOK 1.2 m147
202422.9%700*NOK 5.2 m104
20231*0.0%*2*0unknownunknown117
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownunknown352
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownunknown94
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownunknown265
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownunknown102

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Brusdalsvassdraget101.5Z
  • Solnørelva101.2Z
  • Vagsvikelva100.3Z
  • Ørskogelva101.1Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 147 salmon (310 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway