Skip to content
Municipality · Møre og Romsdal · 1520

Ørsta

8 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 7 companies. The farms are in production area 5 (Stadt til Hustadvika), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 2Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 3.8%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025106 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 22Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 8.2 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 15,600 tonnes · 3 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Ørsta

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Slettvika
Måsøval Lisens AS
Near the limit0.414,6800
Sagelva
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.086,24012
Barstadvik
Aquagen AS
Not reportedunknown7800
Bjørndal
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Standal Y
Mowi ASA
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Storelva
Måsøval Vartdal AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Urke
Måsøval Urke AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Vartdal
Ode AS
Not reportedunknown78021

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)20.0%1700unknownunknown
202533.8%2200NOK 8.2 m284
202431.0%1800*NOK 13.4 m170
20233*0.0%*4*0unknownNOK 3.3 m432
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 8.9 m1,387
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 2.2 m282
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 6.8 m1,109
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 666,683621

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Barstadvikelva095.4Z
  • Bondalselva097.1Z
  • Norangdalselva097.4Z
  • Standalselva (Indre Standal)097.11Z
  • Storelva (Nordre Vartdal)095.41Z
  • ØrstaelvaNational salmon river · 095.Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 284 salmon (1,071 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway