Skip to content
Municipality · Nordland · 1870

Sortland

14 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 6 companies. The farms are in production area 9 (Vestfjorden og Vesterålen), rated yellow (2026 assessment) and production area 10 (Andøya til Senja), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 5Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 0.0%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025201 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 8Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 12.2 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 33,575 tonnes · 1 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Sortland

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Innerbrokløysa
Holmøy Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.313,1200
Reinsnesøya
Holmøy Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.215,5000
Daljorda
Holmøy Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.153,1200
Kuneset
Holmøy Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.093,1200
Bremnesøya
Holmøy Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.033,9000
Blokken
Sigerfjord Fisk AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Djupvik
Akvakultur I Vesterålen AS
Not reportedunknown1,2800
Holand
Holmøy Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Holmen
Holmøy Produkter AS
Not reportedunknown1,56028
Kinnholmen
Holmøy Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown4,0000
Litleøya
Nordlaks Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown1,2800
Sigerfjorden
Sigerfjord Innovasjon Eiendom AS
Not reportedunknown1300
Trolløya SV
Holmøy Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Ytterhavna
Sigerfjord Fisk AS
Not reportedunknown3250

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)50.0%900unknownunknown
202580.0%803NOK 12.2 m93
202461.9%1500*NOK 30.6 m72
20236*0.0%*3*0unknownNOK 12.9 m51
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 21.2 m144
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 8.1 m119
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 14.1 m233
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 2.8 m69

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Blokkenvassdraget178.43Z
  • Fiskfjordvassdraget178.42Z
  • Holmstadvassdraget185.4Z
  • Indre Straumfjordvassdraget185.43Z
  • Kjerringnesvassdraget178.51Z
  • Lahaugvassdraget185.441Z
  • Lakselva (Godfjorden)178.8Z
  • Oshaugvassdraget185.44Z
  • Osvollvassdraget178.52Z
  • Roksøyvassdraget178.62Z
  • Selnesvassdraget (Sortland)185.52Z
  • Sørdalselva178.54Z
  • Vikelva (Sortland)185.2Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 93 salmon (192 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway