Skip to content
Municipality · Nordland · 1860

Vestvågøy

10 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 2 companies. The farms are in production area 9 (Vestfjorden og Vesterålen), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 6Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 6.5%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025321 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 40Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 2Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 6.7 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 13,560 tonnes · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Vestvågøy

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Oterholmen I
Lofoten Sjøprodukter AS
Below the limit0.341,5600
Kolvikodden Ø
Lofoten Sjøprodukter AS
Below the limit0.221,5600
Æsøya
Isqueen AS
Below the limit0.171,5600
Grænholmen
Isqueen AS
Below the limit0.102,3402
Sandholman
Isqueen AS
Below the limit0.077800
Eidisholman
Isqueen AS
Below the limit0.001,5601
Gamskjæran
Isqueen AS
Not reportedunknown1,5600
Geiterøya I
Isqueen AS
Not reportedunknown1,5600
Kjeøya N
Isqueen AS
Not reportedunknown7800
Mortsund
Lofoten Sjøprodukter AS
Not reportedunknown3000

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)80.0%300unknownunknown
202586.5%4020NOK 6.7 m3
202470.9%1600*NOK 13.7 m8
20236*0.0%*7*0unknownNOK 3.5 m8
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 9.5 m6
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 4.6 m10
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 6.4 m26
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 710,01710

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Borgevassdraget180.6Z
  • Farstadvassdraget180.4Z
  • Helosvassdraget med Lyngedalsvassdraget180.11Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 3 salmon (13 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway