Skip to content
Municipality · Troms · 5534

Karlsøy

13 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 3 companies. The farms are in production area 11 (Kvaløya til Loppa), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 10Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 3.3%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025425 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 174Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 2Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 21.9 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 75,640 tonnes · 1 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Karlsøy

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Solheim
Lerøy Aurora Sjø AS
Below the limit0.137,2000
Glimbukta
Lerøy Aurora Sjø AS
Below the limit0.102,7006
Larstangen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.1010,0008
Futnes
Lerøy Aurora Sjø AS
Below the limit0.093,6004
Strandmo
Lerøy Aurora Sjø AS
Below the limit0.093,6004
Langås
Lerøy Aurora Sjø AS
Below the limit0.067,2000
Langneset
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.055,6701
Korsnes
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.037,2000
Mjønes
Lerøy Aurora Sjø AS
Below the limit0.0110,2005
Lubben
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.005,6700
Dåvøya
Lerøy Aurora Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown7,2000
Karanes
Lerøy Aurora Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown5,4000
Vinterneset
Salmar Dåfjord AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)110.0%1400unknownunknown
2025123.3%17421NOK 21.9 m123
2024113.9%8810*NOK 68.9 m122
20239*5.5%*4*0unknownNOK 23.9 m185
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 46.2 m200
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 15.7 m215
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 29.4 m419
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 2.8 m235

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Skipsfjordvassdraget202.11Z
  • Skogsfjordvassdraget200.6Z
  • Vannareidvassdraget202.3Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 123 salmon (281 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway