Skip to content
Municipality · Nordland · 1806

Narvik

6 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 3 companies. The farms are in production area 9 (Vestfjorden og Vesterålen), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 4Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 1.3%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025157 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 9Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 5 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 21,040 tonnes · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Narvik

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Tortenneset
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.193,1202
Pundsvik I
Ballangen Sjøfarm AS
Below the limit0.143,1204
Jevik
Ballangen Sjøfarm AS
Below the limit0.087,0004
Kvernes
Ballangen Sjøfarm AS
Below the limit0.061,5603
Bergkråa
Nordlaks Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,1205
Grønnstranda
Nordlaks Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)50.7%1210unknownunknown
202551.3%900NOK 5 m104
202450.5%1300*NOK 23.4 m61
20234*0.0%*0*0unknownNOK 11.9 m73
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 20.1 m136
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 10.2 m134
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 6.2 m263
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 4.2 m170

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Austerdalselva171.8Z
  • Elvegårdselva (Bjerkvik)174.5Z
  • Forsåvassdraget (Ballangen)172.Z
  • Kjellelva173.1Z
  • Rombakselva174.3Z
  • Rånavassdraget173.3Z
  • Skjoma173.Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 104 salmon (272 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway