Skip to content
Municipality · Nordland · 1848

Steigen

19 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 4 companies. The farms are in production area 9 (Vestfjorden og Vesterålen), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 10Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 1.8%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025388 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 39Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 1Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 16.2 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 52,440 tonnes · 5 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Steigen

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Kråkåsen
Nordnorsk Stamfisk AS
Near the limit0.457801
Hjartøy Ø
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.285,4604
Svartfjell
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.213,6006
Sandøya
Nordnorsk Stamfisk AS
Below the limit0.137801
Hammer
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.083,6007
Anevik
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.045,4002
Mulen
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.043,6003
Hellarvika
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.025,0002
Martnesvika
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.006,0000
Nordfoldleira I
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.003,1203
Bogen
Nordnorsk Stamfisk AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Dyping
Cermaq Norway AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Flehammer
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown4,0000
Forsan
Cermaq Norway AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Holmvåg
Cermaq Norway AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Show all 19 farms
More farms
Nygård
unknown
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Oksøy
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown5,4000
Storskjæret
Cermaq Norway AS
Not reportedunknown1,80025
Ånderbakk
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown3,9000

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)113.7%2300unknownunknown
2025121.8%3910NOK 16.2 m3
20241210.7%6410*NOK 53.1 m4
20239*12.2%*4*1unknownNOK 14.7 m1
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 39.4 m5
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 14.9 m6
2020unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 26.9 m29
2019unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 7.5 m23

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Hopvassdraget (Steigen)168.6Z
  • Skjelvareidvassdraget169.5Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 3 salmon (5 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway