Skip to content
Municipality · Vestland · 4635

Gulen

16 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 9 companies. The farms are in production area 4 (Nordhordland til Stadt), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 7Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 1.1%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025284 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 74Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 10.6 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 77,970 tonnes · 1 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

None recorded.

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Gulen

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Leiholmane
Firda Havbruk AS
Near the limit0.495,4609
Kuøyna
Firda Havbruk AS
Near the limit0.483,1201
Hardbakkeneset
Firda Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.253,1200
Hjartholm
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.193,9001
Indre Oppedal
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.065,4600
Hyseneset
Firda Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.005,4603
Kjerringneset
Firda Havbruk AS
Below the limit0.003,1201
Bårøy
Firda Sjøfarmer AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Gråvika
Blom Fiskeoppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown3,5000
Instefjord
Slakteriet Brekke AS
Not reportedunknown3407
Lyngholmen
Firda Havbruk AS
Not reportedunknown4,5000
Mjømna
Firda Seafood Group AS
Not reportedunknown6,0000
Nesevågen
Martin E Birknes Eftf AS
Not reportedunknown3506
Rørvikneset I
Viking Aqua AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Rørvikneset II
Viking Aqua AS
Not reportedunknown27,4000
Show all 16 farms
More farms
Storeneset
Vestland Fylkeskommune
Not reportedunknown3,1200

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)90.8%4900unknownunknown
2025101.1%7400NOK 10.6 munknown
2024104.9%8801*NOK 45.1 munknown
20236*2.6%*12*1unknownNOK 13.2 munknown
2022unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 36.5 munknown
2021unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 8.9 munknown
2020unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 28.8 munknown
2019unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 7.8 munknown

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Brekkeelva069.31Z

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway