Skip to content
Municipality · Trøndelag · 5056

Hitra

24 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 6 companies. The farms are in production area 6 (Nordmøre og Sør-Trøndelag), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 1 of 15Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 6.0%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025683 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 247Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 1Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 4Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 29.7 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 102,950 tonnes · 1 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Hitra

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Edøya
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Above the limit2.413,9000
Edøya II
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Near the limit0.453,1200
Hallarvik
AS Knutshaugfisk
Near the limit0.452,3402
Værøya Ø
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.234,68010
Ringholmen
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Below the limit0.197,0205
Korshamn
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.176,2400
Lille Torsøy
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.107,0200
Singsholmen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.107,02010
Fugløya
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Below the limit0.076,2404
Varden
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.067,0205
Heggvika
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.014,68010
Korsholman
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.003,1200
Kåholmen
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.003,9003
Reitholmen
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Below the limit0.005,4600
Svellungen
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.003,1201
Show all 24 farms
More farms
Badstuvika
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown5,4601
Flesa
AS Knutshaugfisk
Not reportedunknown1,5600
Ilsøya Ø
AS Knutshaugfisk
Not reportedunknown1,5600
Laksåvatnet Laksåvik
Måsøval Laksåvika AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Omsøyholman
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown6,2400
Rauodden
AS Knutshaugfisk
Not reportedunknown2,3400
Storskogøya
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown6,2400
Ulvan
Måsøval Harvest AS
Not reportedunknown1,5507
Ulværholmen
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)191.5%15226unknownunknown
2025206.0%24740NOK 29.7 m0
2024173.8%9551*NOK 98.7 m0
202314*0.6%*17*1unknownNOK 27 m0
2022unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 72.8 m0
2021unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 21 m0
2020unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 57.6 m0
2019unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 9.8 m0

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Grytelva (Hitra)117.4Z
  • Kvernavassdraget117.23Z
  • Lakselva (Fillan)117.1Z
  • Sagelva (Laugen)117.3Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 0 salmon (0 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway