Skip to content
Municipality · Trøndelag · 5058

Åfjord

21 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 7 companies. The farms are in production area 6 (Nordmøre og Sør-Trøndelag), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 11Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 2.2%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025509 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 222Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 2Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 18.8 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 67,900 tonnes · 5 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Åfjord

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Seiskjæra
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Near the limit0.403,1205
Hosenøyan
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.396,2404
Smælingen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.296,2403
Drevflesa
Bjørøya AS
Below the limit0.263,1202
Farmannsøya
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.225,4604
Gjæsingen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.173,1203
Krabbholmen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.176,2400
Brandsfjorden
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.162,3403
Ratvika
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.093,1200
Flatøyfjorden
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Below the limit0.063,6000
Takflua
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.003,1201
Bessaker
Mowi ASA
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Brennholmen
Kvidul AS
Not reportedunknown13,0000
Brennholmen II
Kvidul AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Buholmen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Show all 21 farms
More farms
Jektholmen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Krabbholmen II
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Kråkøy Slakteri
Kråkøy Slakteri AS
Not reportedunknown6005
Sandøya III
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown2,3402
Sunnskjør
Trøndersmolt AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Vikbukta
Mowi ASA
Not reportedunknownunknown0

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)152.0%6850unknownunknown
2025132.2%22221NOK 18.8 m710
2024124.2%12860*NOK 60.4 m435
202311*0.9%*4*1unknownNOK 15.7 m430
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 46.1 m610
2021unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 16.3 m659
2020unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 32.4 m566
2019unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 13.4 m979

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • Einardalselva136.51Z
  • Grytelva (Åfjord)135.43Z
  • Håvikelva136.31Z
  • Imselva (Åfjord)135.42Z
  • Lianselva136.13Z
  • Mørrevatnet135.31Z
  • Norddalselva (Åfjord)135.AZ
  • Nordskjørelva136.3Z
  • Stordalselva (Åfjord)National salmon river · 135.Z
  • Straumsvassdraget (Roan)136.52Z
  • Sunnskjørelva136.2Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 710 salmon (1,554 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway