Skip to content
Municipality · Finnmark · 5601

Alta

22 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 5 companies. The farms are in production area 12 (Vest-Finnmark), rated green (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 9Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 0.9%Of lice counts above the limit, 2025439 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 54Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 0Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 22 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 71,515 tonnes · 1 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Alta

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Store Kvalfjord
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.233,6003
Store Lerresfjord
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.094,4254
Davatluft
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.075,6704
Lille Kufjord
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.064,5007
Kråkevik
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.054,4244
Nordnes
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.053,4802
Bergsnes V
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.042,7002
Mortensnes
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.045,4000
Storholmen
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Below the limit0.025,4000
Eidsnes
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown1,8000
Elva I Årøysundet
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown1,8000
Hesten
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown2,7000
Langnes
Langnes Laks AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Lille Kvalfjord
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown2,7000
Mårsanjarga
Cermaq Finnmark Farming AS
Not reportedunknown2,7000
Show all 22 farms
More farms
Pollen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown1,8000
Rivarbukt
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown3,4800
Sommarbukt
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown2,5800
Store Kufjord
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown2,7003
Tuvan
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown3,4800
Ytre Koven
Cermaq Norway Salmon AS
Not reportedunknown5,6700
Ytre Simanes
Cermaq Norway AS
Not reportedunknown50610

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)150.0%2520unknownunknown
2025130.9%5401NOK 22 m2,339
20241413.2%7611*NOK 72.4 m1,117
20239*0.0%*13*1unknownNOK 22.6 m1,666
2022unknownunknownunknown0unknownNOK 51.3 m2,266
2021unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 15 m2,002
2020unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 38.9 m3,038
2019unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 7.2 m1,717

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

  • AltaelvaNational salmon river · 212.Z
  • Bognelva211.8Z
  • Halselva212.2Z
  • Lakselva (Kviby)213.1Z
  • Mathiselva212.4Z
  • Transfarelva212.7Z
  • Tverrelva (Alta)212.6Z

Reported wild salmon catch 2025: 2,339 salmon (9,825 kg).

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway