Skip to content
Municipality · Trøndelag · 5014

Frøya

42 registered sites for salmon and trout, operated by 9 companies. The farms are in production area 6 (Nordmøre og Sør-Trøndelag), rated yellow (2026 assessment).

  • 0 of 8Farms above the lice limit, week 39Norwegian Food Safety Authority · Week 39, 2026
  • 5.9%Of lice counts above the limit, 20251,400 counts · Norwegian Food Safety Authority
  • 670Sea lice treatments, 2025Norwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 22Open disease cases nowNorwegian Food Safety Authority · 01 Oct 2026
  • 7Escapes reported, 2025Directorate of Fisheries · 01 Oct 2026
  • NOK 45.6 mFrom the Aquaculture Fund, 2025Directorate of Fisheries (Aquaculture Fund) · 30 Sep 2026

Capacity per company in the municipality

Sites' maximum allowed biomass (MAB) in tonnes, summed per operator · total 172,526 tonnes · 6 sites without a stated capacity · Source: Directorate of Fisheries · updated 01 Oct 2026

Latest events

Atom feed

Food Safety Authority, Directorate of Fisheries, Coastal Administration (AIS) · the same events as in the alerts

Farms in Frøya

FarmStatus week 39LiceMTBWellboat visits, 30 d
Langtaren
Måsøval Lisens AS
Near the limit0.474,6802
Måøydraga
Måsøval Lisens AS
Below the limit0.382,3400
Hofsøya
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Below the limit0.317,0205
Aursøysva
Erviks Laks Og Ørret AS
Below the limit0.282,8601
Raskjæret
Erviks Laks Og Ørret AS
Below the limit0.222,0800
Lamøya
Måsøval Lisens AS
Below the limit0.133,1204
Håbranden
Ocean Farming AS
Below the limit0.043,1208
Sørøyflesa
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Below the limit0.001,5600
Bukkholmen S
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not reportedunknown3,9000
Espnestaren
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not countedunknown4,6803
Fagerholmen
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Fjølværet Ø
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not reportedunknown3,9000
Flatøyan
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Frovær
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown8,7501
Grøttingsøy
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown10,1400
Show all 42 farms
More farms
Hallarøy V
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown2,3406
Hingsskjæret
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown6,2400
Ilsøya 2
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not reportedunknown3,1204
Kattholmen
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown7,8000
Kattholmen II
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Klovningan
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown4,7760
Kveitskjeret
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown6,2400
Langskjæra
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown5,4600
Langskjæra II
Lerøy Midt Sjø AS
Not reportedunknown4,6800
Langøya Kvaløya
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not reportedunknown2,3400
Lyngvær Ø II
Erviks Laks Og Ørret AS
Not reportedunknown1,5600
Mannbruholmen
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown7,0200
Munkskjæra
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Nordskag
Salmar AS
Not reportedunknown3,00034
Olausskjæret
Salmar Farming AS
Not reportedunknown3,1200
Oløya N
Erviks Laks Og Ørret AS
Not reportedunknown2,8600
Rataren
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown10,9202
Rataren II
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknownunknown7
Ruggstein
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown6,2400
Salatskjæra
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown6,2402
Skjelvika
Måsøval Lisens AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Slettholmene
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Tennøya
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown6,2400
Tverrvågen
Vikan Settefisk AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0
Valøyan
Mowi Seawater Norway AS
Not reportedunknown6,2400
Ørnøya
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknown8,5800
Ørnøya II
Salmar Oppdrett AS
Not reportedunknownunknown0

Lice: adult female lice per fish, Week 39, 2026 (▲ above, ◆ near, ● below the limit, ○ unknown) · Food Safety Authority · Wellboat visits: 30 days to 12 Sep 2026, Coastal Administration (AIS) · MAB: allowed biomass in tonnes, Directorate of Fisheries

By year

YearFarms reportingAbove limitTreatmentsEscapesDisease casesAquaculture FundWild salmon caught
2026 (to date)300.5%192518unknownunknown
2025345.9%67076NOK 45.6 munknown
2024343.7%258419*NOK 153.1 munknown
202332*2.5%*120*0unknownNOK 43.4 munknown
2022unknownunknownunknown2unknownNOK 115.9 munknown
2021unknownunknownunknown1unknownNOK 33.4 munknown
2020unknownunknownunknown3unknownNOK 86.4 munknown
2019unknownunknownunknown6unknownNOK 13.4 munknown

* Partial year: lice counts from the Food Safety Authority from week 40 of 2023; disease register from 26 Nov 2024 (older cases only if still open then). The Aquaculture Fund publishes yearly around October–December. Wild salmon: reported catch in rivers with their mouth in the municipality (Statistics Norway). Unknown = no data, not zero.

Salmon rivers

No registered salmon rivers with their mouth in the municipality.

Norwegian Environment Agency, Directorate of Fisheries · catch: Statistics Norway